Book: The Shack

Once in a while, we all stumble upon something that puts a lot into perspective for us. The Shack, for me, was one of those stumble-upons. I’ve always had a lot of separate ideas and concepts relating to Christianity – and faith in general – kind of floating around in my head like unmatched pieces of a very big puzzle. I can’t say this read matched many of them together, but it most definitely helped see something of ‘the bigger picture’.

This work of fiction tells the story of Mackenzie Allen Phillips – a man like many others – who finds himself having to revisit a dark episode of his life. Through this story, William Paul Young touches on a number of characteristics of God that all too many seem to have forgotten about – particularly God’s Love for me (the realisation the story invokes is that personal).

Something makes me want to say that there could have been more reference to some Biblical concepts but that was overshadowed by something far greater – I reached the end of that emotional journey wanting to pick up my Bible right away. I instantly wanted to look for his love in every page and every verse (because I had realised that it was there waiting for me).

There has certainly been quite some hype around The Shack; and for good reason. Get yourself a copy – beg, borrow, or buy (don’t steal). Read it!

Available from CUM Books and Exclus1ves.

For His Glory.

Originally posted 16 October 2009

Leave a comment