Psalms

“The law of the LORD is perfect, reviving the soul. The statutes of the LORD are trustworthy, making wise the simple. The precepts of the LORD are right, giving joy to the heart. The commands of the LORD are radiant, giving light to the eyes. The fear of the LORD is pure, enduring forever. The ordinances of the LORD are sure, and altogether righteous…” (Psalm 19:7-9, NIV)

 

Through many a rough time, reading through the Word has brought me much comfort (as well as much discomfort – a lot of it is tough to chew on!). It’s been especially so for me with the book of Psalms.

The works of the psalmist grab me in a way few other books of the Bible do. The matters at the heart of his writings really resonate with me – they touch on many of the issues I often stumble upon along my walk with God.

Of all Biblical figures, the psalmist – David – is the one to whom I feel I relate the most. The life he led was far from perfect (the same can be said of every biblical person, save One) but what I find outstandingly inspiring about it is his passion for God. I can’t help but wonder what creative ways he would’ve found to express it were he alive today.

Anyway, putting the focus back where it should be, God himself called David a man after his (God’s) own  heart (Acts 13:22; 1 Samuel 13:14). Call me crazy but I’d be over the moon were the Creator able to say something even vaguely close to that about me.

I’ve been trying to read through all the psalms and it’s taking me much longer than it should, but I praise God for what he reveals about himself throughout the Psalms. He’s ever there and always faithful. When I’m at my worst, I’ll still put my hope in him. When I’m at my best, I’ll sing songs of praise to him for who he is.

Don’t quote me on this but I think David also had quite good a sense of who Jesus was (going to be). After all, doesn’t all of scripture (as a whole) to point to him anyway?

“May the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be pleasing in your sight, O LORD, my Rock and my Redeemer.”(Psalm 19:14, NIV)

For His Glory.

Edited from 3 May 2009

Leave a comment